UKCPA Education Groups All Groups

Pain Group

The UKCPA Pain Committee is committed to raising the profile of clinical pharmacists in treating and managing pain.

Follow this group

Yousaf Ahmad MFRPSII


Chief Pharmacist

Practice Plus Group

Dilesh Khandhia


Clinical Pharmacy Manager / Deputy Chief Pharmacist,

Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust

Samantha Ma

Secretary & Membership Lead

Medicines Safety and Surgical Emergency Pharmacist

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Mehreen Karim

Membership Lead (publications)

Lead Medicines Information Pharmacist

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Asier Rodriguez Saiz

Standards & Consultations Lead

Clinical Pharmacist,

London Bridge Hospital

Ravinder Bratch

Acute Pain Lead

Lead Pharmacist, Theatres and Acute Pain,

New Cross Hospital

Neetu Bansal

Acute Pain Support

Lead Enhanced Recovery Pharmacist

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Trust

Deborah Steven

Chronic Pain Lead

Lead Pharmacist – Pain Management

NHS Fife Dunfermline

Cathrine McKenzie

Chronic Pain Support

Clinical Academic Research Lead

Kings College Hospital NHS Trust

Helen Liddell

Primary Care Lead

Advanced Clinical Pharmacist. Community Pain Services,

Connect Health

Kate Webb

Primary Care Support

Advanced Pharmacist Practitioner General Practice,


RPS Accredited Training Provider

The UKCPA Pain Management Group aims to improve the understanding of the core principles of managing pain in clinical practice



Pain is an area which crosses all specialities and sectors within pharmacy and the UKCPA Pain Committee aims to improve the understanding of the core principles of managing pain in clinical practice as well as providing a forum for more specialist discussion.

The Pain Committee members work with various associations, societies, charities and groups in order to share their expertise to improve the care of patients.

Some members of the Pain Committee are Royal Pharmaceutical Society spokespersons for pain management and assessors for the Royal Pharmaceutical Society Faculty.

Committee member Professor Roger Knaggs is Secretary of the British Pain Society Council, the first pharmacist to take this position.

Get involved

We are currently looking for:

  • Speakers and tutors for learning events, including conference workshops, masterclasses and webinars
  • Practitioners who can comment on national consultations
  • Practitioners who have a flair for writing to produce articles for the UKCPA newsletter and website


If you would like to know more about the Pain Committee, or would like to get involved in their activities, please contact the Chairs.

Become a member

Joining UKCPA is easy with a range of payment options to suit you. Join today and start enjoying the benefits immediately.